cheap ass acoustic needed. Suggestions?

dafduc

I'm a terrible guitarist, probably always will be. But there are tunes of mine just crying out for acoustic guitar, and finding someone to come lay down a track for me is a giant pain - mostly schedule weirdness, but also 'cos I'm way out in the boonies.

So I gotta get an acoustic - the loop disks are making me nuts. My wife's got an old one, but it's a noname, and shot to hell - a couple of the pegs are stripped, and there's a split in the back.

So if I can pick up an Epiphone or a Washburn for under $150, I think that's what I want to do. Musician's Friend had an Epi for $99, for example.

Any thoughts about sound quality on the low-end guitars? I know that if I spend more, I'll get more - but I don't think I need a LOT more. Which budget lines are the best for sound and quality of construction?

War stories also cheerfully accepted.

Thanks,

Daf

Yamaha and Takamine make some good budget guitars. Fender too. I have never played a Washburn so I have no opinion on it.

I recommend upping your budget if you order one off the internet. Even $50 or $100 more could get you a much better instrument.

I just looked at Musicians Friend. These might be good buys.

Yamaha FG403S- Dreadnaught with a spruce top. $199

Takamine G-240 $179 Dreadnaught

How far do you live from a city with music stores ?

Thank you, Jesus.:rolleyes: (Ha - always wanted to say that!!!) :D

I'm good enough to figure out some simple parts and bang on 'em 'til I get them right. Especially since a lot of the time all I need is some Kumbaya guitar.