Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread: Capacitors and Resistors?

Thanks

Capacitors and Resistors?

Sign in to disable this ad
    Can you guys point me to the best place to buy capacitors and resistors? Like J quality/5% tolerance or higher. And maybe a kit that has an assortment of values. I'm doing some modifications tone/volume knobs and swapping some pickups -- just started getting into this so I'm a newb and not sure where to buy. Looking for good quality parts.

Also, what types (bumble bee, orange drop, ceramic, etc) should I be looking for? Are the orange drops really much better than ceramic? If so, why? Etc.

Thanks!

Thanks
    You can buy them at a lot of places...but this is one of the places that focuses its items toward the guitar players and amp builders (there are others).

Antique Electronic Supply

AFA caps for the tone pots in the guitar...since it's a passive circuit, you can use whatever you want, it will yield the same result, but some people just like using the more esoteric, Hi-Q stuff anyway. If you were building an amp...it would be a different story.

Also keep in mind that some of these caps tend to be much larger than others, for the same values...so make sure your guitar cavity has the room. Like the Orange Drop are pretty large compared to a ceramic disc cap.
    I've used a lot of silver mica caps for guitar tone purposes...they are small, and more durable than a basic ceramic disc cap.
    You can also find this stuff all over eBay...once you figure out what you want and the values you need. That's where I've bought most of mine.

If you were talking electrolytic caps for active electronic stuff...I would say go to a bigger supplier that moves a lot of product, so you know you are get fresh stock, since electrolytic caps can get stale over time just sitting on a shelf. I used all high-end, long-life Panasonic caps when I recapped my console...got them at Mouser and Digikey.