Bass player doesnt understand drop D

Myx62

I recently joined a new band and the bass player doesnt understand drop D. He started tuning all his strings down a step instead of just dropping the E down to D. He has never played any drop D stuff and thats hard for me to believe..... The dude mostly plays old metal. I was a shred metal guitarist back in the 80's so I dont have a prob with the music, its just that Ive been there and done that and a few metal songs is OK as I have recorded some recently.
The dude also has some rough recordings of metal jamming like Metallicas Orion. He calls it a song? Im 40 and dont have a lot of time to waste anymore, so I hope Im not viewed as a dick, but I think the dude has to go. I have a few albums worth of material all complete , recorded and with lyrics, yet the dude seems uninterested. The rest of the band likes the songs.
Man, I didnt get back into gigin to deal with this shit again...Should I fire the dude, or just walk away and continue recording my own shit in my own studio?
Some input would be greatly appreciated.
Myx

Go with your instincts. There's a simple rule with people - if it doesn't feel right, it ain't right and probably never will be. And of course there may well be things about you that he doesn't like.

Gonna have to be your decision.....something like firing someone isn't something that people who have never met him (or you) can give any useful input on.
BUT......if it's your band and you're feeling this way about him.....I can't see why you should keep him. I mean, your band, your decision as to who's in there.

did you JOIN the band or FORM the band. if you joined the band and he was already in the band, then you are the dick. don't go forcing your wide view of the earth on people who are happy going through life with blinders on.

i was that dick too.