bass blister

bunnyfunk

I am a guitar player teaching myself how to play slap bass, but I am constantly getting a large blister on my "pop" finger. I have to stop practicing for days at a time, and after one hour of playing again, theres the blister. I realize I am going to get blisters, but thought I would have a callass by know(one month) Am I doing something wrong? How long does it take to get a good callass?

Blisters are a pain..literally..When I use a "Slap and pop" technique I use my ring finger on my right hand for the "pop" part, but I use the fingernail more than the fingertip to pluck the string....This may not work for extended periods of time, but I only ever use it sparingly..Good luck with the callouses..going from Guitar strings to Bass strings is hard work.

Part of playing bass is getting hurt... lol. I've been playing bass for 13 years, and if I ever go for a few weeks without playing my fingers will hurt when I pick it up again. I alternate between my index and midle finger when using a slap technique. Throw the ring finger in there like Spir@l mentioned and you have three times the amount of playing time before your blisters get so bad you can't play. ;) I tried putting tape on my fingers a few times, and it helped with the blisters. I just didn't get the same feeling when popping the strings and so quit doing that. This is probably not what you want to hear, but I just dealt with the pain until my fingers got toughened up enough where I could at least continue playing. I don't think you are doing anything wrong, it just takes years really to get major callases going. Plus, you will build up some hand strength and better callases for your guitar playing. Playing bass first really helped me out when I moved to guitar.