attn strat owners and owners of REALLY nice guitars

mixmkr

we don't need rest!!
I have an 88 Amer Stand Strat (bought it new) with a maple neck which I would say is my favorite guitar. I see new ones are about $800, give or take whatever. I have a couple other guitars on this quality level... 1967 Starfire III, late 70's Gibson L6S, 4001 Ric bass, etc.. and have owned many other guitars in this price range. But NEVER anything over a grand.

I am wondering if a custom shop strat or something upper level will really make me drool. I find that I would also probably have to take my current favorite strat and do an A/B comparision at a store, I would think, as that is what I have currently been doing at church. But I always gravitate back towards my maple necked Amer. Strat.

I have been playing for about 40 years now, but admittedly am probably still a "babe" when it comes to knowing really good guitars. All thru the 70's and 80's I played a 1967 V and a mid 60's ES335, but then got hooked on the Strat later on and never looked back.

I would like to "thin my herd" and potentially get a really nice #1 guitar for church, or am I potentially not going to see a difference now that I have been playing my 88 Strat this long?
I have played some of the pricier guitars in Guitar Center, etc....but feel I would need to play it a week or more AND in a live situation to tell if I would really like it or not. ...kinda like what I am going thru now....trying to see if I like my other guitars (again) as much as my Strat.

Hopefully not too confusing a post, but I sure would like to hear some opinions on GOOD guitars VS the $800 guitar (todays prices).

(now...I suppose I'll hear that the 1988 version strats were junk too!! ha!!)

Hey Dude, I have had (and still have) a bunch of strats.

If you get the opportunity check out a PRS CE24. I went for one after playing strats for ages and I just love it. I think I payed about $1650 for mine. Expensive but what the hell, I just love it !