amp recommendations for home recording

raindogred

I have a small studio under my house where there is a drum kit and 30 watt bass amp. For guitars I don,t have an amp and have used either a V-amp /and or the amplitube plugin. Never really been happy with the guitar sound I have been getting so far. Can someone recommend a good all rounder amp in the 30-50watt range. Have looked so far at just peavey gear - studio 112 and the classic 30 tube amp, both sound pretty good. can anyone suggest/recomend a good all round amp for getting good rock/blues/clean sounds. Can anyone recomend other brands eg marshall valavestate or roland?/whatever
cheers

THE recording amp

Yo...I have been a blues/Hendrix guitarist for near 40 years, and I found that the Fender Cyber Champ amp is the ticket for recording. With 21 pre-sets (7 you can build & then save yourself) it can't be beat. It has a factory "Red House" setting that comes real close to the exact sound Hendrix was getting that day in the studio....and you can tweak it any way you like then save it to your 7 available amp settings "Players Lounge" bank...Lots of great clean amps too "65 Deluxe Reverb" etc. etc. I've been a Tube and analog purist for a long time...but this amp won me over....60 watts/1-12" spk...about $400.00 new!
Have Fun! :)

For just recording, I'd suggest:

1) A small tube amp in the 5 to 15 watt range that you can really CRANK to get some power tube saturation.

2) Vox Pathfinder 15. This one's starting to get notice from some pro studios. I paid $99 US for mine and now the best price is $119 US. Best "budget amp" on the market today.

Second the Vox Pathfinder. Really nice tone for a cheap 15 watt solid state amp (and plenty of ooomph too) :cool:

i use a Pod Xt to great affect.......

also, don't forget the Fender Blues Jr......
15 watts tube, still very loud.....