alternate picking

wannabecomedeat

hey

it's been five years of itense learning and complex playing, but now i gotta go back to the bases i left after 2 months of playing, those stupid scales, to develop speed. (by saying stupid scales i mean i hate practicing them, but i understand and acclame theory)

i think i have a problem with picking.

what i do:
d u d u d d u d d u d d u d u (down up...)
------------------------------2-3
-------------------------3-5-----
-------------------2-4-5---------
-----------2-4-5-----------------
-----2-3-5-----------------------
-3-5-----------------------------

am i wrong thinking i should do always d u d u d u d u ?????

feels like i'm a beginner when playing this way, but if that's the way to go, i'll have to learn it the hard way!

hoping for some quick reply :D

Hey wannabe,
When alternate picking is executed correctly it should be picked as the name states "ALTERNATE PICKING". When scales are played using this method you keep the pattern of down, up, down, up etc going as you move onto each string. Also when a particular scale pattern calls for three notes or more on the same string you should still use down, up, down, up etc.

This alternate picking may confuse at times because as you ascend and descend through the scales you will at times pick the first note on a string upwards and then the first note on the next string downwards.

Once you have alternate picking under your belt you can play with more speed (if that is your thing) as it takes less effort and time to alternate pick than to pick a note downwards then lift the pick up ready for another down stroke.

A nice slow approach making sure each note is picked and fretted cleanly is more beneficial than trying to pick fast and have notes not sounding clearly. Learning correctly the first time around will save you undoing bad habits formed by incorrect technique.