Studio monitor advice, if you please.

B.A. Stone

I currently use a pair of KRK v4s. Though generally good monitors, they are predictably lacking in low end response. So I'm looking to supplement them with a second pair with more oomph. Budgetary limits being what they are, I'm looking at Event Tuned Reference 6 or 8, MAudio BX8a, and Tapco S8. Any thoughts and/or experiences?

Thanks for reading.

re: is there a certain reason you are not considering a sub?

I have no experience with a subwoofer. My concern is that since the bass sounds will not be coming out of the speakers in front of me, how do I know how much bass there truly is in the signal? How does one properly place a subwoofer in the room so that the bass you hear is trulyrepresentative of the mix? (Did I mention that I have no experience with a subwoofer?) Mind you, i'm not necessarily against the idea--I just don't understand how the sound is "experienced" by the ear when the unit is--as I understand--not placed directly in front of the listener. Please enlighten me as I'd be thrilled not to have to spring for a new set of monitors.

I had the exact same problem as you with my krk rp5's. They are good and accurate but really lacked in the bass range. I got the krk sub (also my first sub) and it has done wonders for my mixes. Obviously, you need to play around with the sub placement to find where it sounds best and there are no phase issues, but it doesnt hinder listening at all if the sub isn't right in front of you because the lower frequencies arent really directional. I highly recommend the sub route.

Lower frequencies are not very directional. In other words, those sound waves fan out extremely wide in a big hurry and fill the entire room. The human ears cannot easily discern where it is originating from. Your ears will fool you into believing that the bass is coming from the two smaller speakers, even if the sub is on the floor.