multitracks

MessianicDreams

hey everyone, im looking for an affordable multitrack digital recorder (my budget is <$500). firstly let me explain what i want it for: i want to use for compositional uses, and for pre-demo kinda work.

i've been look at the Fostex MR8, Fostex VF80, Tascam Pocketstudio 5 and the Boss BR-532. getting second hand equipment is a bit of a problem (i live in switzerland, so most products on e-bay cant be sent here :(
i especially like the Fostex VF80, cause it has loads of space. i'm not too sure about the memory sticks, as they dont have much space on them, and to buy bigger ones is expensive.

could you guys suggest any other small multitracks like the ones mentioned above? are there any other alternatives (i'm a complet newbie!!)?? right now i'm probably gonna go for the VF80, but i'm kinda worried about the lack of simultaneous tracks that can be recorded - 2 seems rather limited.

cheers,

MD

Last edited:
Well: for "compositional" and "pre-demo" type of work, I wouldn't think a limit of two simultaneous recording tracks would be that much of a limitation. Then again, you may want something that's versatile enough to use for purposes beyond those included in your original intentions.

justinchannell----> my home pc isnt powerful enough and i think it would be too expensive to make it powerful enough. another thing is that i would want something i could take to my abnd practice, and generally something a little more portable than a pc!!

sjjohnston----> ok i'm a newbie, and i'm not too sure what's available. did you have anything specific in mind??

thanks for your help guys, i really appreciate it!
cheers,
MD