Headphones/Amp for mixing and mastering, help !

modeobsqure

Hello there
i am new in here, hope i am starting this thread in the right place.

I am a music producer, I've been making Trip-Hop / electronica for a few years now. I am also working abroad (PE teacher), always traveling so i can't have a proper treated home studio.

I am currently using :

MONITORS : Presonus Eris E5
AUDIO INTERFACE : Focusrite 2i4 2nd gen
HEADPHONES : Audio Technica ATH-M50X
MSI laptop

I am having a very VERY hard time mixing and mastering songs in my actual untreated room, so I am thinking about buying an openback Headphones. After a long googling session, I felt In love with the Beyerdynamic DT1990 Pro (250uhm) . quiet expensive headphones (600 usd) and yet they need an AMP to run perfectly... (starting from 100 usd)

I know that most of the producers do not advise using headphones for mixing but I have not choice.

My questions are :

1- what do you think about mixing with an openback headphones? please share your experiences
2- as I mentioned above, I am using a Focusrite 2i4, do I need to buy a amp to run the dt1990 ? if yes, which price friendly AMP do you guys propose ?
3- anyone using those beyerdynamic ? are they worth the 600usd ?
4- is there any lower price but yet similar quality headphones you know ?

thank you !

Best
Youssef

I have the 250ohm DT-770s and while they are closed back, I never had a problem with the level I could get from my older Saffire interface. However, some folks I’ve had over to record did find the level low for tracking so I do use a headphone amp with them now.

I would think you could get by without an amp for mixing. I’d certainly try it.

If you must mix with phones, then having a few different kinds is good to check against each other. For that an amp with 4x outputs and independent level controls can be useful.