Complete newbie soundboard recording question - Allen and Heath GL2400

Smedley

I've been tasked with looking at a soundboard setup that we're having issues with (Allen and Heath GL2400). We're trying to record a microphone feed (sermon) to a video camera. The current setup has the video camera connected to the DIRECT OUT of the same channel that the microphone is feeding in to (11). The result is that, while the sound sounds fine to the speakers in the venue, the video camera recording is distorted (overmodulated?).
I'm thinking that the video camera shouldn't be connected to the DIRECT OUT of that channel and wondering what the correct set up is. Is it that the DIRECT OUT of that channel jumpers to the EXT IN 1 in the Matrix and then the video camera connects to MTX 1 or MONITOR OUT? Then the modulation settings to the camera can be controlled separately?
Appreciate in advance the help and education.
Thanks much.

You may have a line level out connected to a microphone level input on the camera. Has the camera got a line level input?

Alan.

I'm picking up the camera at the end of the week so I'll know more about it then but I believe it is just a microphone in on the video camera. It's just a basic hand held video camera. My assumption is that if it is a microphone in, I need to control the input level to the camera from the soundboard. Thanks in advance.

A microphone in will never work 100%, below is lifted from the Shure web site:

Microphone level is in the region of -60 dBV (0.001 volt) to -40 dBV (0.010 volt).
Line level is in the region of 0 dBV (1.000 volt).