v drums or persevere with live drums

Hi guys
I'm a guitarist and play drums enough to record my own stuff. I love recording live drums but it comes with its own frustrations given my set up. Ive got an opportunity to buy a set of roland td10's for $2000 (can). Ive used them b4 and have liked them a lot, but again they have a few things that can be frustrating. Any views on whether that would be a good route to take or should I just keep on with the acoustic set. Is the price a bargain or is that the going rate these days? Think he paid over $3000 two years ago.
Thanks

I don't have a good answer... but what I find is a good indicator is what things are going for on eBay. Check out completed auctions and see what folks are paying for similar items currently.

well you could spend the $2000 on better recording equipment/mics to be able to make the live drums sound good enough, and those mics could double up to be used on other instruments when overdubbing.

this seems a better choice seeing as your not actually a 100% drummer, and only play them to back up your guitaring - it wouldn't seem worth it to pay $2000 for a drumkit when you don't/can't play much. good luck anyway :cool:

DO NOT buy an el-kit. You can't get good dynamics!
I played a TD-20 (The best Roland kit, very expensive) the other day, and it was okey. But the cymbal response and dynamics were terrible!
You get MUCH better results with a entry-level kit with some decent sounding cymbals, new drumheads and good tuning.
I would never buy an electronic kit! I hate them... :p

But whatever floats your boat man! This is only my opinion! :)

Thanks guys, the scales were tipping against the v drums and your input just reinforced my decision. Besides, I just bought a new snare (pearl signature series) and I love it. First time Ive gotten a really usable drum sound.
Iceyflame youre right 2 grand can get a lot of good mics and toys, what was I thinkin :confused:
Cheers