Trying to record drums in my basement

muke

Hello,

I am trying to record drums in my basement. I have no acoustic treatment foam, the room is about 14 x 10 ft, with carpet floor and drywall walls. I have two mics, and earthworks sr20 and some cheap sennheiser mic that came in a pack with stand and cable. I am using reaper software and my monitor is a focusrite scarlett 2i2. I am a complete newbie to recording. If anyone is interested, i have a dw performance kit and sabian cymbals. I am currently getting a godawful dry, tinny, sound, and cant seem to get a good bass sound at all. it just sounds horrible over all. My drums are not tuned properly either.

Where can i start?

Thanks, god bless. :wtf::confused:

After the above, then try you mic placement for the overheads, see where you can get the best sound for the kit. After that, work the kick, then the snare.

I wouldn't worry too much abut dry. I have a really dry room and usually get some room verb in a send but for all of the instruments (virtual and real) to give it the same room. Bring up the verb only for room sound, not for reverb sound.

Your tracking room doesn't have to be great, just the sound you are getting in your mics. So, find the spot that yields the best results. For kick and snare, it will be close micing and room will have little to no affect. Overheads will be your work.

Try putting the earthworks over your shoulder and the sennheiser in the kick. That should give you something workable.

If not, try putting the earthworks in front of the kit, about tom height.

It will always sound a little small, because you don't have two of the same mic to make it stereo. (two earthworks as left and right overheads, would be good)

Try putting the earthworks over your shoulder and the sennheiser in the kick. That should give you something workable.

If not, try putting the earthworks in front of the kit, about tom height.