Recording Zoom 234 drums

fluridium

I'm a newbie, so please bear with me.
Using the Zoom 234, is there a way to separate the drums in the output for recording onto different tracks once the entire song is made on the machine. If not, what's the best way to create and then record songs on the unit?

I use the 234 with midi control, creating sequences of indiv. tracks and then recording to audio tracks. Dont know if you can seperate them by itself......I dont think so

Possibly not

I had the same problem when making patterns on the 234, all gung-ho till i realised it would have been ideal to to record them to individual outputs.

I doubt the 234 is sophisticated enough for that, im not sure about the new Zoom drum module, which appears to be a damn sight better for only £199, or whatever it is in $??

I did ponder the idea of pieceing them together by recording the pattern on several empty patches and then deleting the opposing drum signature, leaving you with 5 or 6 patterns each with its own drum on, then record them one at a time to separate tracks. Plus of course you'd have to create patterns with as many bars as the entire song. Which would be hugely frustrating to edit. From my point of view i have some fairly simple but intricate drum patterns that would possible take up most of the memory. You'd also i guess have to delete each one after once you've record them all to make room for a new song. What you do there after is up to you. This seems to be painstaking but it avoids spending anymore money, something i often advocate on limited income.

Alternatively of course, depending on your method of recording you could look at software drum editors like LM4, Battery or FruityLoops.
This curiously enough is a route i have been looking at lately, however none of them seem to have a decent pattern editor or quantize function so seem to stop short of ideal.