Question about pain in the wrist....

tubedude

When I play a kit for about 20 minutes, I develop a weird pain in my left wrist. If you make a fist, turn it sideways where your thump is on top, the pain would be on top of the wrist about an inch from the wrist joint and feels to be about 2-3 inches in lenght. Kind of almost feels like its on the bone itself in a way.
IS this normal for beginners? A technique problem? Something worse? Whast the word?

How do you hold your sticks...

Standard or that jazz style way?

How long have you been playing?

do you warm up before?

I get this too, but I've been playing for 5 years. It just started a few months ago.

I can't just switch over to traditional either.

I hold them standard I guess. I dont know if traditional is for me though. Seems weird. I'm really not even sure the technique on that.

This could be a bad thing, geet73, like carpal tunnel, although I dont wanna think about that.

i plây drums since 6 years or so, never had much problems with my wrists,
i play with light jazz sticks, don't like the fat rocksticks

i play very souple, and yes, sometimes my sticks just fly out of my hands,

my drumteacher told me some techniques one day, had to practice alot cause it DID change my style of playing

the difficult thing is; i just can't explain in text how to do it,

just loose and souple(is that an english word?) don't hold them like if they were the last sticks on earth,
and yes, i can even hit my drumkit REAL hard without hurting myself,

i don't always use my wrists, lots of the time i just hold the sticks
between my THUMB and my index finger, NOTHING else,

the three other fingers just go "up and down", they make the stick move,
when the stick hits the batter, it goes up automaticly,
this way you can play even without moving your arm or wrist,
yeah, even without moving your index finger and thumb,
just by moving those three other fingers (fast or slow;;;;)