Overhead mics

Bdrum

If I have a group of cymbals panned left and right,
how do I cover them. I mean.... I have a crash and some chinas on the right and the same on the left how far should the mics be?

Well placing mics is a 3D exercise in which you have to worry about height, distance, angle of the microphones on an X and Y axis (up/down and which direction the element is pointing).

Here are a few tips to guide you:

On drums the *further* you move away the more 'room' sound/ambiance you will get... in general.

Likewise the closer to the drums your overheads are the more drum sound you hear, and the less of the room. If you're not in a great sounding room I recommend getting pretty close to minimize the crappy room sound.

The higher the microphones are placed the more cymbal and low end you get (bass waves need distance to develop).

The lower height of the microphones the less cymbal you get and the more 'kit' sound you will have. If you put it so low they are under the speakers cymbals will sound a little different, a little darker and meaner.

The wider you set the angle to the drum kit (meaning: are they far to the sides pointing at each other towards the drum kit, or more at 45 degree angle towards the kit) the wider your stereo image will generally be.

Keep in mind that you can point overheads AT the drum kit or AWAY from the drum kit in an "x" shape (usually over the drummer's head pointing outwards). Both sound different so experiment to see which you like better. The "x" sounds more natural, and pointing them towards the drum kit sounds wider.