OK, so I'm getting new heads...

regebro

Insane Genious!
What should I get? It's a reasonably good Tama set, and with the clear single-ply heads I have now, I can't get rid of ringing overtones. I want a much deader sound, and it's for recording the set. I'm not close micing (I only have two good mics) but are gonna put the mics a couple of feet away.

The sound I want is a pop/rock-sound, suitable for music like Smiths, Blur, Popsicle, that kinda stuff.

I'm new at this, do you have any recommendations? I'm probably gonna buy the heads for one of the toms first and try them out before I buy for all of the toms, and I hope that also will give me some indication as to what I want for the snare/kick.

Whaddayousay?

Evans G2's on tops of toms, Evans resonants on the bottom - Any one of the Genera snare heads on the snare and EQ3 on the bass drum batter

OR

Remo Pinstripes on tops of toms, Clear Ambassadors on the bottom - Powerstroke 3 on the snare and Powerstroke 3 or 4 on the bass drum

Hope this helps...

I pretty much go with theletterq's suggestions, same thing I've been using except for the snare head, evans G2, EQ3, dixon snare head, or a genera). If you want a REALLY dead sound pick up some Evans hydraulics, for that (evans description) "fat, wet 70's sound".... their pretty hideous heads but guarantee they will not ring (or have any tone or life to them at all :) ) Avoid them. You can control the ring without killing the tone with some careful tuning and minimal damping. I've been using half of a kleenex folded again in half attached to the rim of the drum or sometimes taped directly onto the head near the edge. On the bottom either nothing (usually some damping on the bottom head of the floor, mine tends to rumble) or about the same amount of kleenex taped. Takes a lot of time to get any kit to sound half-way decent. All easier said than done.

Emeric said: