Need help deciding what kind of drumset to get

loldoaflip

Hello everybody, I desperately need some help deciding what my next investment as a drummer should be. I've been playing drums for 7 (going on 8) years, and I'm completely self-taught. While I've managed to learn a lot from trial-and-error and the help of many kind musicians online, I'm still kind of a newbie overall. For as long as I've been a drummer, I've been relying solely on two drumkits: a cheap CB Drums 5-piece beginner's kit (my very first drumkit), and a Tama Rockstar 5-piece kit. Both are relatively cheap kits, meant for beginners, but now that I have been drumming for quite some time and finally have a job so I can invest my own money in a next-level drumkit, I need some help.

Now, I know there are a ton of options I could go with, but I just want to give some information that might help you guys lead me in the right direction:
  • I primarily play rock, punk, and alternative music, but I'm looking for a kit that could allow me to be versatile while also serving well within those genres
  • I am really fond of the sound of Matt Cameron's drums (especially on Down On The Upside and King Animal) - I realize his Yamaha kit probably cost thousands of dollars and is very high end, but anything that could get me closer to that territory than my CB/Tama kits would be lovely
  • This is probably the biggest limiting factor, but I hope to stay within a $400-600 budget. If I need to invest a little bit more to get a drumset that makes that much of a difference in quality, I'll be happy to do so
  • If it helps with the above bullet at all, I'm only looking for a shell pack, I'm not including cymbals in the budget (that will be a few more hundred dollars to lay down on another day... the costs of being a musician haha)
  • Speaking of cymbals, I am relying on the wonderfully cheapo Sabian B8's and B8 Pros at the moment, so any recommendation on good rock/alternative cymbals would be great as well