Learning drums

Pinky

and The Brain...
Okay, I have to stop kidding myself. I LOVE the drums.

I've been a guitarist and bassist since around 18 (now 29). I kinda fell into guitar outta convenience, and have become good enough to play most anything I can think of.

BUT, my passion has always been drums. It's no coincidence I'm an excellent rhythm player and have a knack/gift for 'getting' complicated time signatures.

I'm wathcing this Steve Smith video (awesome drummer) doing a sort of drum clinic thing and I understood EXACTLY what and how he was doing it. Not that I could duplicate the playing, but it brought me back to when I have goofed around in the studio I suprise people with being able to sit at a kit and actually PLAY the thing.

Need some guidance. I'm gonna get a kit and rent a space if I have to (no way I could have a kit in my apartment). Money won't be too much of an issue. But I really need stop toying around and move to the instrument of my heart.

Any pearls of wisdom? Gear recommendations are welcome. Looking at $1,000 to start, which should build a decent set (especially if I find one used).

I'm a huge Neil Peart fan already, can even play a few of his licks on air drums! :p Other suggested drummers? I have also enjoyed Mike Portnoy and Danny Carey's drumming over the past 10 years.

I have the musiciansfriend catalog in front of me - I've played Tama sets and for the money I think this may be my best beginner's option.

[BTW, this is a duplicate post from the Dragon cave, but no one responded and it was suggested I repost here - sorry for double posting! :) ]

Getting a teacher who can teach some proper technique and rudimental patterns can be helpful (it's easy to learn bad technique when self taught and very hard to unlearn later).