I want to learn drums

I'm a truly awful drummer - I can just about manage shit that the bloke from Crazy Horse does.

Ralph Molina?? He's an amazing drummer!

If you can play drums like Ralph Molina, I will literally give you money to play on my shit.

when I was a teenager, I used a book called Independence for the Modern Drummer. It was for learning to play different rhythms simultaneously with different limbs.

Hey Paulman, good post. I was looking for the book you mentioned and couldn't find anything with that title.

For now I've been drumming into a pillow. When I move I think I'll get at least a midi kit, but if it's to a place I can be loud then I'll get a real kit.

I actually like programming drums from scratch. There's something enjoyable about watching it come together. I'd want to learn drums for the reasons mentioned, mostly to help coordination and timing and disconnecting the limbs.