Homerecording vs. drumming

TamaSabian

Peruvian skin beater
Hello, I just wanna have some comments from you, about what would you do if you have to decide between both.
This is a budget issue, so here I come.......

Left hand M-Audio Delta 44
Right hand one xplosion crash 17"

I´ve been playing over 8 years, you know there´s always space for another cymbal.

The homerecording thing started last year, I bought some basic gear, and I´m using SBLive, but I want more inputs to record my drumkit.

Here in Perú you can find Sabian cymbals but you can´t find M-Audio soundcards.

It would be great if you could give me some advice on this.

Thanks in advance

Tama

I'm a drummer who also does alot of home recording - if you are looking for opinions, I say get the M-Audio.

The cymbal will only give you joy when you hit it - and even that will be limited by certain hours in the day (you can't hit the cymbal when the neighbors are sleeping). In addition, the cymbal will give you limited artistic and creative opportunity (you hit it or you don't)

The M-Audio can give you hours of creative opportunities (yes even when the neighbors are asleep).

Now as a drummer, I love my cymbals (I own 30 or 40), but as a musician, I appreciated the creative opportunities my recording gear provides me.

Good luck with your decision!!!

What is the decision here? Either you can spend your money on recording gear/software and be able to capture/share your music with others....or, you can buy a new cymbal and enjoy it all by yourself every time you smack it. That's a no-brainer in my opinion, but it's your cash!

Maybe you´re right drummerbones, but as I said this is a matter of cash and opportunity I can´t buy both things I got to pick one. A friend of mine will be travelling to Denver soon, so I could give him some cash to buy a Delta 44, that´s the opportunity I was talking about.

If you have enough cymbals to play comfortably enough, I'd say go for the Delta 44.