help choosing a set

tilinmyowngrave

ive been playing for 4 months. i have definately gotten better, and I'm saving up money. ive been playing on a really cheap, messed up set i got on ebay, and over the summer i wanna get a job for money. so here are my questions:

Sabian or Paiste (no zildjian)? I play hard, but i also like precision and variety in my cymbals. I love Sabian's Paragon series, but I also love all of the Paiste cymbals... so which should i choose?

Which is the best drum set? i really want something that can really cut through anything, very loud and powerful, but it doesnt sound like crap. I prefer deep and VERY loud bass drums, loud snares, and tone rich toms.

Thank you for the advice.

Sry, i forgot to mention I'm also learning Tabla (Indian drums). For those of you who know anything about it, what do you consider to be a good set? Is it better to get a tabla set or a drum machine to simulate the tabla?

Tablas are hard instruments. You will have to play them for a long time to get anywhere and you will probably need a teacher to sound authentic and have good form.

tilinmyowngrave said:
Sabian or Paiste (no zildjian)? I play hard, but i also like precision and variety in my cymbals. I love Sabian's Paragon series, but I also love all of the Paiste cymbals... so which should i choose?

I tried the Paragons at the NAMM show when they came out a year ago. to tell you the truth, I really wasn't thrilled with 'em. They are very 'focused'. They have a specific range of tones that's very small for each cymbal, almost a specific pitch. They really don't have any shimmer or what I would call 'sparkle'. That can be very useful in the studio or if your live with all the drums mic'd.