good drum machine/sampler? Boss 770 Dr. Rhythm?

ruebarb

Hi guys. I'm a songwriter who pretty much lost his band. I'm working on demos/recording for future songs, and I'm wondering about drum machines. I'm mostly wanting something like the kind you find in trip-hop groups like the Folk Implosion. Maybe it'll hold a bit of a sample or two, but mostly I need some good beats. Trouble is, I've never worked with them much before. I've read about the Boss 770 Dr. Rhythm, but I'm not sure this is what I want or is any good. If you have any recommendations, please drop me a line or a link to reviews. Thanks. Ruebarb

Try to get hold of a used Roland R-8 with a few extra sound-cards. It´s a bit dated, I know, but gives you enormous possibilities to control your sounds. The Boss is more modern and will probably be fine,too. Don´t forget there´s a lot of sound modules with good, modern drum-sounds in them, like the Korg o5/w. Listen before you buy. Also consider things like dedicated outputs, i.e more than one stereo-pair. Good Luck!

Hey Ruebarb:

I'm on my third drum machine; the first was a Yamaha -- not bad at that time. I still have an Alesis SR-16 but have the Boss 770 right beside it. I haven't had time to explore all of the sounds in the 770 but about the first one I punched in inspired me to play around with a latin riff. Thus far, the sounds are great. Price was about 361.00, plus shipping, from Full Compass.

The 770 has all the features you would need; you can create and store your own meters; it has an array of drum and percussion sounds.

You might want to rent one for two/three months and see if you like it. I just bought the box because I got a demo tape from Roland and I liked the sounds. It has a gaggle of pre-sets and 400 spaces to store your own drum patterns. Like all other boxes, there is a learning curve but getting started is pretty straight forward.

Good luck and it's the beat that does it.

Green Hornet