Electronic Drums

TelePaul

J to the R O C
So I went the electronic drums route. Roland TD-4K, entry level but I still went over my budget. I'm excited though, I'm a complete newb on the sticks and it's great to have a quiet way to practice - it's nearly worth the money for that alone, as my mum is getting fairly pissed at the Phil Collins efforts coming from upstairs. However, I'm also excited about the recoridng capabilities - it really came down to whether to throw some money into new cymbals, skins, a D112 and an SM57 (and still contend with my poor room) or by-pass this and go with the electronic kit with it's MIDI ouput.

I have a few questions. Firstly, is controlling something like EZDrummer or even the LM57 VSTi that came with Cubase SE3 as easy as plugging ina midi cable, settting the Roland to input and the LM7 to output? I don't know much about drum mapping but I assumed it was fairly standard? Secondly, is taking an audio out from the module as simple as hooking up two TRS cables (L and R) and setting two line-in channels on my mixer to the same gain level?

Thanks guys.

This is somethig I want to do eventually. But the price of the Roland is pretty steep for my budget. Toontrack/EZDrummer has a forum for e-drums, maybe your answer is there. I'd be interested in what you find.

http://www.toontrack.com/forum/tt.aspx?forumid=52

As for the audio outs, wouldn't they be regular 1/4" plugs instead of TRS?

Yes it IS that easy. midi cable from the module to your PC, the midi notes already correspond to the correct samples in ezdrummer for sure, and probably LM7. I thought I'd have to map roland's tom4 to E3 or whatever and go one by one thru all the drums, but they were all perfect right from the start. Even the hi hat / pedal interaction. You MIGHT have to change a setting in the module, so the module doesn't think it's the sync source.. My TD-8 was driving me crazy for hours til I discovered that ....