drum tracking question

nate_dennis

Hey everyone. I am completely new to the idea of drum recording. I looked through this forum and didn't see a thread related to this question so I hope I'm not being redundant.

What are the relative strengths and weaknesses of the following approach to tracking drums?

Mic'ing a full kit and running it through mixer and sending a stereo out to an analog mulit-tracker? The issue for me is if I only have eight tracks to work with and need two to bounce to I'm eating up a lot of tracks just on drums if I used all of the mics. I have also thought about using busses and puting the kick on one track, the snare on one track and then putting the overhead AND the toms on a track together. Any ideas? I know this is probably really fundamental stuff so forgive me. Thanks in advance.

Hey everyone. I am completely new to the idea of drum recording. I looked through this forum and didn't see a thread related to this question so I hope I'm not being redundant.

What are the relative strengths and weaknesses of the following approach to tracking drums?

Mic'ing a full kit and running it through mixer and sending a stereo out to an analog mulit-tracker? The issue for me is if I only have eight tracks to work with and need two to bounce to I'm eating up a lot of tracks just on drums if I used all of the mics. I have also thought about using busses and puting the kick on one track, the snare on one track and then putting the overhead AND the toms on a track together. Any ideas? I know this is probably really fundamental stuff so forgive me. Thanks in advance.

If in your situation, I'd use 4 tracks: kick & snare on their own tracks stereo mix of everything else to the other 2 tracks.

That's how I used to do it when I was in that situation. The kick and snare are things that you really need to have control over, so having them separate is a good idea. It's also OK to go with mono overhead and toms if you need the extra track.