Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: Cymbals

Thanks

Cymbals

Sign in to disable this ad
    I am a guitarist and started a home recording studio. My drum kit has the brass Paiste 101 cymbals. I am looking for an upgrade. Is the PST7 set good enough for studio or should I save for Paiste 2002s? My drums is a Yamaha Rydeen.

Thanks
    2002s for the win! It's damn hard to beat those bad boys.

Thanks
    I bought a lot of used cymbals, tried many, and slowly weeded out the ones I didn't like (sold them back), and kept a final set of what I thought sounded best for recording (live gig band playing may have different requirements).
    Mine are all Zildjians...a mix of K, A cymbals...mostly thin/paper thin and dark/custom crashes, Mastersound hats...and a really sweet K custom ride.

Thanks
    As Greg stated 2002 are had to beat. For recording, I've been using Signature series 16, 17, & 18 crash, 13" HH, & a dark energy ride which all sound and translate very well. However, this will ultimately come down to style, genre, and personal taste; therefore, I'd recommend heading to a music store & locking yourself in a drum room and trying a bunch of cymbals (even within the same series and size) out until you find what you like. This may take some time and might get to the point that the store wants to throw you out but will be worth the time IMHO.

Thanks
    That's interesting that you guys are into cymbal sets. I've never done it. I always just buy whatever cymbal I happen to like. Mine are all hand-picked (Sabian AAX hi-hats, Paiste Signature Crash, Ziljian Trash Splash, Sabian AAX Crash, Ziljian K Ride, Meinl Byzance Dark China).