Coated Heads, Heavy Sticks, and Heavy Music

gumplunger

I'm a pretty hard hitting drummer and I play pretty heavy music. I've been using clear batter heads on my toms, but since they seem to lose their punch fairly quickly the way I play em, I was thinking some coated heads for the toms might be in order. Am I on the right track here? I can't say I remember seeing many metal drummers with coated toms...

gumplunger said:
I'm a pretty hard hitting drummer and I play pretty heavy music. I've been using clear batter heads on my toms, but since they seem to lose their punch fairly quickly the way I play em, I was thinking some coated heads for the toms might be in order. Am I on the right track here? I can't say I remember seeing many metal drummers with coated toms...

try it. if you dont like it, try something else. what other metal drummers use doesn't matter really. i have 2 friends that were in metal bands at one time that have both used coated heads for a really long time. they both had very metal drum sounds. my band is a heavy'ish band......i don't know if i would go as far as calling it metal, but we use coated heads. everyone in the band seems to like them.

Remo has a newer head out called the smooth white.
It is a tough 2 ply head that has a brighter harder sound, and they are nearly bullet proof. My son plays them in his metal band. He is the type of hitter that breaks those metal drumsticks and beats the coating off coated heads within 20 to 30 minutes.

I think you will like them.

Tom

Kenny Aronoff is a pretty hard hitter and he uses (or has used) coated Remo Emperors (as well as Ambassadors in the studio):

http://www.remo.com/portal/artists/4241/Kenny_Aronoff.html

I prefer coated to clear, but I've never cared much for pinstripes/hydraulics. I've used both Ambassadors and Emperors, depending on the gig. You might check out the Remo Emperor X.

From Remo's web site: