Dr. Z Carmen Ghia for the studio.

Folkcafe

Hi all.

I am starting a collection for my small studio and I'm starting to look at amps. I have picked up a few acoustics and already had a couple of old electrics. I have read a couple of reviews for this amp and though it would make a good starting point. I have little experience with great amps. Although I have had a few amps over the years none have been really great amps. Peavey Standard with 4x12 BW, Musicman HD Lab Series L5. My only amp I currently own is a Mitchell I use as a practice amp (somewhat limited for recording). I need to find a short list of a few affordable amps that would in total give me the most versatility.

Any user feedback on this one would be appreciated.

Also any other suggestions (used or new, studio quality) that would round out the studio for Rock to Jazz and mostly anything in between would be appreciated.

Also any good Cab combo's suggestions for the Dr. Z and others would also be helpful.

Say you were starting out with around $2500 to start and maybe another $2500 in a year. How would you start and what would be on your short list.

Thanks

Don Goguen
http://www.folkcafe.com

I have good things about Dr. Z. I also have heard very good things about the THD Univalve head. You can change the tubes and therefore the sounds without rebiasing. Also, comes with a hotplate that lets you get a "cranked" sound without very loud volume. I am going to check one out this weekend. they are hard-ish to find, but I hear nothing but great things about the support, and have had good experiences with asking questions. they are coming out with cabinets you can drop the head into as well. cost about $850. 15 watts, class a.