The Unbearable Hiss of Being

dishwasherrat

Dear Reader:

I am new to recording. I recently purchased a Porta02 mkII 4-track recorder. I read the manual front to back.

So far, the recording process is great fun, but I was disappointed to hear extraordinary amounts of hiss through my headphones during monitoring, recording, playback and mixdown alike.

Is this normal? I did everything as instructed in the manual, but this is completely unexpected and certainly not addressed in the troubleshooting page of the manual.

The truth is, I actually enjoy a little hiss and white noise in my recordings, but this is beyond ridiculous. It doesn't seem right at all.

And, since the hiss occurs even when my mic is unplugged (unless this is how multitrack recorders are famed to sound; I wouldn't know as this is my first), could it be because I'm using an 1/8"-to-1/4" adapter for my headphones? Do I need to use a different kind of adapter so as to circumvent the hissing?

My current setup includes one Audio-Technica ATR55 condenser microphone. When using this microphone with my minidisc recorder, I have no clearly audible feedback, distortion or hiss. I have used it successfully for multiple purposes. For headphones, I use Sony's MDR-7506. (Please note, however, that I do not have the 1/4" adapter shown in the photo at this link.) I only use Type II Chrome tapes.

I'm stumped, and I certainly hadn't read any reviews or mention of this unit being disruptively hissy. I mean, really, it sounds like a damn waterfall. Click here for an MP3 sample of the hiss in question.

Thanks in advance for any and all constructive help.

Cheers,
dishwasherrat.

It's loud!

Eh,... I'll just go for the basics.

First of all, on some multitrackers there may be a bit more hiss in the phones than in the actual Line-Outs. This should be verified by hooking the Porta02's Line-Outs to your stereo or monitoring system.