TASCAM Portastudio 424 mkiii playing backwards

wkthomas

Hi all,

I just bought a Tascam Portastudio 424 mkiii in very good condition and recorded my band playing through a few songs to test it out.

My problem is that when I play back the tape, I can only hear the songs in reverse. It plays backwards out of Tracks 3/4, which I guess means it's playing the opposite side of the tape.

I would think that the solution is to use Tracks 1/2 since that should play the correct side of the tape, but those tracks are silent.

I haven't cleaned the machine yet, so that may be a contributing factor here. But can anyone tell me what the problem may be? This is my first time posting here, and while I didn't see any other threads addressing this topic, please redirect me to a relevant thread if one already exists.

Looking forward to talking with you all more in the future!

Have you noticed whether the cassette's take-up reel is collecting the tape as it plays? If not, the tape may be feeding out and folding back on itself. Possibly a bad or broken belt..?

The record process winds the tape in only one direction, it should not be technically possible to record while reversing the tape. Which means you MUST be playing the tape backwards and if you recorded to tracks 1/2 but only hear back on 3/4 it means that the tape has been flipped over, possibly by someone messing with you. The only other thing I could think of is if there was already something printed on the b side of your tape and you haven't recorded anything on the a side.

No. I think it's acting as it should.
Did you mix down to a regular deck?
I think you are playing the multi-track recording in a conventional cassette player?
In a normal tape deck the heads read half the tape. Left or right half. One side plays one way and the other plays the other way.