Tascam 488 questions - HELP

stevied

I am new to using 8 tracks! I just purchased a Tascam 488 , I believe it's the older version and not the II. I have used Tascam and other 4 tracks in the past and have a pretty good idea on operating them. I do have a few questions on the 8 track if someone could help. 1. Do I for each track I record set the pans at L,R,L,R...and so on for each track? 2. Do I need a power amp to run this machine or is it self powered ? 3.Can I use monitors while recording so I don't have to use headphones? 4. Where can I find a manual on the web for free download or does someone have a copy for a small fee? I have not recieved the unit yet that's why I have these questions and I want to be prepared. Thanks!

www.geocities.com/steve_dowdle

Attachments

• newblckbnnr.jpg
    newblckbnnr.jpg
    36.4 KB · Views: 209
Mine came with a power cord. So I guess thats self powered.

Yes you can use monitors. Shii, You can plug a pair of speakers into the phone jack if you really have to. But yes its possible.

I've been searching for a manual this WHOLE week. No happs. Cant find one. Ill continue to look, but I think your best bet is to purchase one. Try www.ebay.com

Good luck
Smoove

Thanks! I do hear that they are fairly simple to run if you have a little knowledge with multitrack recorders. If you happen to come across a manual email me and I will do the same. Thanks again!

Yea they are. If you learn quick and can figure out things on your own (trial & error) then it wont be hard. The 488 is not hard to use at all, but there are certain details that people need to know that would be in the manual. Ill definately email you one. I would email everybody one who needs it. Lots of people do

But you'll be aight. Just play around with it. Good luck homie ;]

Stevied.....

....just a hint - how about attaching a sig image that doesn't blow the margins of the page, causing users to have to scroll horizontally to read the post.......