Newbie w/Advance Q: TASCAM US1800, How to "In Box" Play & Record?

Status
Not open for further replies.

MoBuc

Hi all,
I have the Tascam US-1800 USB Audio Interface. I've recently discovered the driver for this device does not route playback into a PC recording program if the "playing" program is also, on the same PC. I am assuming the exception is playing a track within an "In-Box" DAW can record back to a new Track (Mix Down) within the same Software. (Cubase may allow route back into itself. I'm new to Cubase. :confused:)

Q: How may I play audio in 1 program & record it into Audacity (or Cubase LE5)? Ideally, I want to have only 1 Audio Driver enabled. I would like to hear connectivity ideas for 2 Audio Cards, if that is the only work-around available. That's how I have been doing it up till now.:(

:( Old Way :
US1800: Enabled w/ USB to PC, I/O & COAX SPDIF to EMU 1212m
EMU 1212m: Enabled w/ I/O Spdif Coax to same of US1800.
WinXP Onbord Crd: BIOS disabled, & Wavetable Disabled

:cool: Ideal:
US1800: Enabled w/USB to PC & I/O & COAX to misc External Devices/Instruments
EMU 1212m: Disabled & unused
WinXP Onboard Crd: Disabled & unused.

I'm open for suggestions. The "Old Way" is very awkward & time consuming to configure as it is different for each PC Program pairs involved (WMP to Audacity, Internet Browser to Audacity or DAWs, etc.).

Thanks in advance for your ideas.
:confused:

This Question Post is a continue of, ": Newbie Q: How 2 Replace Microsoft Wave with knew card?" question posts now closed.

Dummy posts to get around the "...5 or more posts to post a link" restriction. I have a link w/Pics of the Device configs of my PC.

Ok, with the 5 posts done. I can now add this link to some pictures of my PC's Configurations in Power Tracks Pro, Cubase LE5, & Windows Sound and Audio Device Properties. Notice the volume for the Audio Recording is greyed-out. Tascam validates this point in their picture of the same on page 15 of the Owner's Manual.