Soft-elicenser doesn't have enough permissions to run properly, please run LCC to fix

SIRRISH

I have been using Cubase SX for many years. But I just recently purchased the Cubase 8 with an upgrade to 8.5 [I think]. When I first click the icon on my desktop that says "Cubase 8 64 bit," a window appears and a message appears that says, "Soft-elicenser doesn't have enough permission to run properly. Please run LCC to fix this problem." What does this mean, please.

RISH

I have been using Cubase SX for many years. But I just recently purchased the Cubase 8 with an upgrade to 8.5 [I think]. When I first click the icon on my desktop that says "Cubase 8 64 bit," a window appears and a message appears that says, "Soft-elicenser doesn't have enough permission to run properly. Please run LCC to fix this problem." What does this mean, please.

RISH

Download latest version of elicenser. Do you have a dongle?

I have to download the elicenser thing every time I reload Cubase. Kind of a pain, but it does the trick.

Cubase Elements (including AI and LE) can run using an e-license and the free PACE/iLok License Manager program (but see below for additional details).

Any version beyond Elements/AI/LE must use a physical iLok dongle. :(

Regarding the PACE/iLok License Manager, once you've got that installed and running (assuming you're using the Elements, AI, or LE version), you may occasionally get an error message when starting up Cubase-- I forget the exact message, but I think it recommends re-installing the License Manager, which actually doesn't help at all (at least, not in my case).

What the real problem is (at least whenever it happens to me) is that the PACE License Services aren't running.

To correct this, you must open up the Windows Control Panel, go to Administrative Tools, select Services, and look to see if the entry for PACE License Services says "Running" or not. If not, right-click on the entry and select "Start."