Potential Cubase SE buyer...Have a couple questions.

Apex702

I see a lot of members disapprove of downloading programs for free, I on the other hand find it a very useful tool in deciding what program works best with the equipment you have, I do, however, agree these programs are always missing something, or are limited.

I want to buy Cubase SE, but attemtped to DL it first to see its as easy as I've been told. Well without any luck trying it out for free(I've DL many "versions" and none have worked) so I looked for a message board just like this, and I'm asking if its a good program to record in(Vocals) and how easy is it.

To give you an Idea of what I record in, I currently use Acid 3.0 with a Samson CO1 Condenser mic, I get decent quality, but its only 16 bit/44,100Hz
My sound card is 24 bit, so I'm thinking Acid is holding back on the quality of the vocals, is this true?

I do have Sony Sound Forge and "edit" to the best of my ability(I'm no proffesional, just self taught with trial and error over 6 yrs) but its still no where near the quality I heard through Cubase.

Well help is appreciated, thanks.

Apex702 said:
I do have Sony Sound Forge and "edit" to the best of my ability but its still no where near the quality I heard through Cubase.
Well then it isn't the s/w that's responsible for the "quality"...

Sound Forge is an excellent piece of s/w designed for 2-track editing, not for multitrack recording. Sonically, it's excellent.

Cubase, OTOH, is designed as multitrack recording s/w - geared to emulating a multitrack recorder in terms of functionality. It also sounds excellent.