please help the greenest green horn technophobe in the western world .

barney12

As m'y title suggests, I am new to all this music technology . I play quiet badly and guitar even worse to be honest , but i love creating music . Im just banging my head off the wall when it comes to cubase .I've got cubase 7 by the way .can anyone direct me to a series of how to video clips, for cubase 7 , because I could read books about it all day long , but i need to see someone actually doing it on the screen. Thanks very much for any help you can give me .

Cubase is extremely complex and capable, and almost every users sets it up differently, and does things in different ways. As such, you really won't get anything from tutorials - the majority are by people who have little clue, and are promoting very weird workflows. For specific needs, you can find short tutorials - so if you are stuck with say, the compressors and dynamics tools, then these can be handy - but because many windows have different contents depending on what kit you have connected, and VSTi's installed, many tutorials just confuse.

Are you wanting to record real instruments and voices, or do you want to use soft synths? Recording style, as in press record, play and then stop, or pattern based? You say you play badly? As in a few mistakes, or just no ability or musicality? The treatment would be quite different - plus of course the genre of music. Somebody keen on rap and drum 'n' bass uses Cubase very differently from me who is into 'older' music - drums, bass, keys and guitars?

What are you having issues with?

Thanks for your reply Rob . To be honest , I'm an old fashioned musician of sorts . Drums bass piano guitar and a bit of vocals , given enough fosters . It's more just all the basics of recording that I need help with . I think you tube may be my best bet , I just thought someone might know about a set of DVD tutorials for cubase 7 that would be worth investing in . Thanks again Rob .