Has anyone here run CUBASE on linux Ubuntu?

Manor Music

I just got myself three computers,,,they all have Linux Ubuntu

I was wondering if anyone uses Linux, and if so what recording software they recommend..and anyone who successfully got Cubase running on it please chime in.

cubase? it's good,but not much chance on linux. try JACK related apps. a hassle,but..

I just got myself three computers,,,they all have Linux Ubuntu

I was wondering if anyone uses Linux, and if so what recording software they recommend..and anyone who successfully got Cubase running on it please chime in.

i notice some people here giving cubase a hard time!
i've been using cubase for over ten years,and its fine.
and i know many professionalsd who use it very succesfully.
my favorite examplebeing the psychedelic techno act,eatstatic,who surpass most techno acts.they use it as a mastering device.

using it in linux platforms?well,the problem is most linux platforms arnt designed with music recoirding in mind. unless you can rebuild any of the laptops/pc's u have.
some folk might suggest a combination of wine/playonlinux which act as a virtual windows on your linux computer so you can run windows programs, but i find it pretty lousy. most things dont work well on it.
in fact,i find it really hard running most quality music production things on linux.
for the time being i just wouldnt bother, and keep a little , but good laptop running windows 7 to do my serious stuff on until you get a good set up,if possible,on one of your linux platforms.

i love the idea of being free from windows/mac, but i find i spend MORE time messing around trying to get things running than i do actually working on the things i like to do with linux (currently have ubuntu 14.04 installed).

there is a load of devices that come under the umbrella of "JACK" and they all can be connected together. they seem to all be very good in what they do. however,it's a nightmare getting them to doit.