Cubase and Addictive Drums noob!

Out of curiosity, why do you recommend beat designer as the method for workflow over drawing in what you want in the drum editor?

And wait,

GN quote: "To access the beat designer go to: MIDI Inserts>Beat designer" Where is that?

I am curious myself, as to how this option works, but I got lost with your direction. I see no 'MIDI Inserts' to start the process.

Wait, I found it while typing.

For clarity: Click on the 'e' for the MIDI track created, and insert Beat Designer.

I had no clue, as I mostly deal with audio tracks.

Seems weird to me, but much more like my boy's FL studio type drum creation stuff works.

I myself, would stick to the Drum Editor, but I am a drummer. Different strokes.... It may work better for the OP. I can't judge.

Thanks for the optional possibilities GN! Learn something new everyday! :)

I knew about beat designer. Actually all of the midi insert plugins are fantastic and one of the reasons cubase murders all other daws when it comes to midi (I did a video on using auto LFO to create that warble effect in dubstep).

I'm just wondering why it would be the suggested method for workflow when it comes to acoustic drum programming.

Hello guys,

#20 Hi guitargodgt,

Out of curiosity, why do you recommend beat designer as the method for workflow over drawing in what you want in the drum editor?

I think it is easier and faster to create a beat with beat designer than with the key editor. And you need less clicks. It might be hard to get your head around the drum map.

E.g. To create a beat through the key editor:
1. Create a MIDI track.
2. Select the pencil tool, draw an empty event between bar 1 and 2.
3. Set your locators, activate cycle on.
4. Double click on the new empty MIDI event.. ups you have a piano roll on the left... ( I always forget to activate the GM Map even after 7 years of working with Cubase)