Cubase 5 for beginners: Click Problem

Grandioso12

Hi there, I am new to the forum. I only have Cubase 5 from years ago and I also have a tiny USB interface for my laptop.
So my mission is to set up my stuff to record some demos of some new songs (he he he).

But just here to start with: The interface is my device In and Output so I can listen to the track (via interface headphone output) and have my Amp In via LINE IN...

BUT: my laptop microphone does not turn off. No matter what I am setting for in and out... How can I regulate that... I am a newbie in recording, with minimal gear :P

Then the other thing: My click in the recording session is either ON WHILE I AM RECORDING and then RECORDED and if I turn it off via the options then it isnt in there AT ALL?

How come and could someone help me out?
Cheers Folks,

Peace Love and Harmony!

Grandioso12

Thanks a lot for evrey help.

Wow. I can try and help- but I am not running Cubase 5.

That said- this sounds like a routing problem.

Lets start front the beginning-
1. What interface are you using?

2. Are you using any of your laptops built-in jacks and things? It reads like you amp is inputting there, and not this USB device? If so, what gives with the USB device's input?

3. Why not use a modern DAW, since you are kind of starting fresh? People love Reaper- and it's cheap. Maybe you love Cubase5.. but most people who are 'stuck' with 5 are because they have a cracked version. No judgement- but Current Reaper is better than cracked C5, imo. But If you just have a bunch of old projects you wanna get- lets sort it out :)

lets work it out.

Yeah I think so too... thanks for your answer and for taking your time. Very apreciated though I have been trieing for sooo long now to get it going. I have been moving a lot and also have two kids. But where a will is :-)

So. Answer to