Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Cubase 5 32bit vs 64bit.. Whats the advantage?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    91
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    214755

    Cubase 5 32bit vs 64bit.. Whats the advantage?

    Sign in to disable this ad
    Hi,

    I currently run Win7 64bit, with Cubase 5 32bit installed.
    I have 6gb of RAM, but i'm upping that to 12gb in the next couple of weeks.
    Will cubase feel the benefit or will I have to go to Cubase 5 64bit to get any benefit?

    What are the differences exactly?

    thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    54
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    6
    Basically, 64bit has a larger memory address space. If running in a 64bit OS, 64bit programs can utilize more of your memory. 32bit will typically cap at 2GB memory utilization. To my knowledge, adding more memory won't do Cubase 32bit any good b/c it won't utilize the memory whereas 64bit can use what's available.

    Open Cubase 32bit you have now, run it, make sure it's "working" (as in doing something and not sitting idle...be it mixdown or whatever) as hard as you can make it. Open resource monitor in windows and look at the memory tab. I'd be surprised if even under heavy workload that Cubase was using more than 32bit cap (can't remember if 2GB or 3GB).

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    JHB, RSA
    Posts
    1,163
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4690785
    It will only really make huge a difference if you're using a lot of VSTi's. A 64-bit OS will have more memory available to it so therefore there will be more RAM available for VSTi's (and in some cases plugins) to utilize.

    As long as there's CPU performance to spare to accomodate more plugins/intruments, of course.

    Cheers

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    http://www.controllerism.com
    Age
    23
    Posts
    2,403
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
    Rep Power
    12542975
    This might be a dumb question, but can I have 32bit and 64bit Cubase 6 installed on the same system?
    I've got 32 on my 64bit os right now and am wondering since I plan to use a lot of virtual instruments can I pop the disc back in and install 64bit as well?
    Why do some people not like 64bit DAWs?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    54
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    6
    I don't see why not. I mean, Windows 7 comes installed with both 32 & 64bit versions of IE.

    As for the other....it's possible (only applying history w/ video editing software) that some of the VSTs/plug-ins may not work in a 64bit environment, although I haven't experienced this yet.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    JHB, RSA
    Posts
    1,163
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4690785
    Yes, you can. I have both installed on my machine.

    Cheers

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    JHB, RSA
    Posts
    1,163
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4690785
    If you want to use your 32-bit plugins in a 64-bit host, use JBridge to port them over:

    jBridge J's stuff

    Cheers

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 07-22-2011, 13:02
  2. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-20-2004, 04:43
  3. Please help... i have no clue whats going on with cubase
    By LiquidBronze in forum Steinberg / Cubase User Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-06-2002, 17:55
  4. Whats The Advantage Of Using A Real Mixer?
    By DRUM2001 in forum Studio Building & Acoustic Treatment
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 12-28-2001, 09:26
  5. Truetape 32Bit Cubase VS Cakewalk
    By MercyfullMusic in forum Steinberg / Cubase User Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-29-2001, 11:08

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •