A couple of cubase 5 problems

benherron.rrr

Hi guys ive got just a couple of cubase problems/questions i could use some help with.

Please dont flame me because im new to this.

Ive just bought myself a new computer for my music work. ive been using cubase 5 for about 6 months now and getting on will with it.

my first question is about loading VST instruments, ive recently bought spectrasonics trillian i install all the DVD's into the STEAM folder that i created in program files, and install the .dll file into the cubase vst folder but i cant open the player, there isnt any signs that anything has installed. for your imfomation i installed the .dll into programfiles>steinberg>cubase5>vstplugins. but there is also a programfiles>steinberg>vstplugins. i have to install the 64 bit and 32 bit in different places and im not sure what im doing wrong, i have the same problem with the kontakt player. however ive installed XL addictive srums and that works perfectly.

also when im using a line 6 toneport ux2 for audio recording and i can hear the guitar or voice when ive got podfarm open, is there any way that i can listen to it just in cubase?

Thanks for your help

Sounds like you put the .dll in the right folder. You have to tell cubase to re-scan the folder whenever you make changes.

Sounds like you put the .dll in the right folder. You have to tell cubase to re-scan the folder whenever you make changes.

Ahh that maybe the answer, however its a bit strange since, addictive drums and EWQLSO. appeared streight away, i know its a bit of a noob question but how do i rescan the folder? I've tried opening and closing cubase by the way.

Sorry, I use Sonar and Samplitude, but I am sure Cubase works the same way, just not sure of the exact method. Probably should have a menu where you tell it the path to the vst folder and that should have an option to re-scan.