Acid Music 3.0 vs Acid Pro 4.0

mjr

ADD -- blessing and curse
I'm wondering what the primary differences are between Acid Music 3.0 and Acid Pro 4.0. I know for sure that Acid Pro is out of my price range, so I was wondering if Acid Music 3.0 would suffice. I've heard it's a good idea to record at 44,100 and at a higher bitrate, and I know that Acid Music 3.0 will let me record at 44,100, but limits me to a 24 bitrate (I think that's right).

Anyway, could someone please explain the primary differences, and please bear in mind that I'm still VERY new to digital recording.

With Acid Music you will be stuck to pre-recorded audio. Acid Pro 4 allows you VSTi support so you can use virtual synths in it to create your own sounds. There are more effects in Acid Pro, automatable effects, effect envelopes, the chopper (loop slicer/dicer thingy) and a few other things I'm probably forgetting.

I started with Acid Music about a year and a half ago and got quite a bit of use out of it for about 3 months before I found myself wanting more. Once you upgrade you won't regret it and will wonder how you got by in the first place.

I would suggest though, that you look around because you can find Acid Pro 4 these days for suprisingly cheap. Don't buy into what is on the Sonic Foundry website $400? yeah right. I guarantee you that you could find it for $150 or less (especially if you are a student).

If that's still too much, I might suggest looking elsewhere such as Magix Music Studio or Cakewalk Home Studio which, I believe can be found for less than $100 and can do significantly more than Acid Music. Try out the demos and see for yourself what gels with you.