Help needed with bpm ...

sinkingships

Hi
Total noob to recording here, I have a Boss 900cd. I slowed down the tempo of drums to 118 to play guitar along to when recording.
How do I now speed up tempo of song, when I try to speed it up, it only speeds up the drums & leaves guitar at original speed. -- HELP :)

What are you recording into? If it's a sequencer, then there is a problem. Audio files are different from MIDI files. Changing the tempo either direct on the device, or via the sequencer has no impact on the audio file - it is fixed. Better sequencers can resample it to speed it up, but leave the pitch the same or speed it up and raise the pitch - however this has a detrimental impact on the recording. Small changes may be transparent, but going from 50 to 100bpm really spoils the sound. Sorry - but this has always been the problem when you slow things down - but in the old days, speeding up also changed the key - now it doesn't have to.

What are you recording into? If it's a sequencer, then there is a problem. Audio files are different from MIDI files. Changing the tempo either direct on the device, or via the sequencer has no impact on the audio file - it is fixed. Better sequencers can resample it to speed it up, but leave the pitch the same or speed it up and raise the pitch - however this has a detrimental impact on the recording. Small changes may be transparent, but going from 50 to 100bpm really spoils the sound. Sorry - but this has always been the problem when you slow things down - but in the old days, speeding up also changed the key - now it doesn't have to.

I am recording into the br 900, but when I try to speed up from 118bpm to 130bpm on playback, it only speeds up drums & not the guitar part.

I am recording into the br 900, but when I try to speed up from 118bpm to 130bpm on playback, it only speeds up drums & not the guitar part.

He did a pretty good job of explaining it, but I'll take a crack at it.

The guitar part is a recording.