PT Best Software?

guitargirl7

I'm in need of some new software, and possibly hardware. So far I have no idea what to purchase. I was using PTSE which turned out to be a horrible mess due to on-going issues that are popular with the product. In my new search, I found this PTLE software with mbox 3 that I was thinking of purchasing at best buy:
Avid - M-Audio Mbox 3 High-Performance Personal Studio Production System - Mbox 3 ProTools LE mbox&cp=1&lp=2

Besides PTSE, I'm pretty new to software in general. With that being said, I'm willing to learn anything that is thrown at me with recording.

My main question is would the best buy purchase be smart, or should I look into different software/hardware? Is pro tools the best product to look into?

Extra info:
- I would be using an sm57 mic
- recording vocals and guitars
- professional musician
- Toshiba laptop x64

Thank you!

As a protools user I'll say it's great and it does everything I need perfectly, but......

It's not the 'best software' unless you have some particular reason why it's the best, like perhaps you're familiar with it, or all your music friends or colleagues use it.

If you're starting at the start and have no real ties to anything, I'd definitely shop around.

Like I say, It's great, but if I was starting again I'd learn a DAW that has proper ADC and isn't tied to an ilok, for a start.
That may just be me, but there you have it! :)

As a protools user I'll say it's great and it does everything I need perfectly, but......

It's not the 'best software' unless you have some particular reason why it's the best, like perhaps you're familiar with it, or all your music friends or colleagues use it.

If you're starting at the start and have no real ties to anything, I'd definitely shop around.

Like I say, It's great, but if I was starting again I'd learn a DAW that has proper ADC and isn't tied to an ilok, for a start.

Didn't PT 10 get rid of that hassle?