Looking to Buy Pro Tools

tddrummer

I heard that if you really want to make great music than you need Pro Tools...while I know this may not be true I've looked into it a little and heard about it a lot. I was just wondering if there is a cheaper version with quality, or most of all what program would you prefer?

Well I am a Pro Tools user and I will be VERY honest with you, if you are trying to stay AS CHEAP AS POSSIBLE... Pro Tools is not going to comply too much. Digidesign is the pickiest group of people out there when it comes to using their products (digidesign hardware to run the software, iLoks, upgrades, EXPENSIVE!, etc...) BUT if you don't mind spending some money, I think, YOU will LOVE it. I've tried many programs and none are as extensive and as powerful WHILE BEING as simple as Pro Tools is. Cubase and Sonar are great, BUT... they are way too darn complicated (for me atleast). Pro Tools is very straight forward and I guess there are reasons they are so picky and sometimes overpriced (think of it like Gibson Guitars) its QUALITY STUFF! And the industry is mostly setup with this stuff... so it's a good choice if you really want to get into something serious and can spend a bit of money. I would start out with one of the small m-audio firewire interfaces and get Pro Tools M-Powered. Thats the cheapest way to go and it's great quality still.

I heard that if you really want to make great music than you need Pro Tools

if you believe that, don't buy Pro Tools. There is no program that will give you better recordings or make you instantly a hit musician. Every program, at it's core, is basically the same thing. They allow you to record, edit and mix your audio. That's it. That's all that is important. A great engineer can get the same exact results with Pro Tools that he can get with Reaper. He just does things in different ways. Do your research. Figure out your needs and find something that will fit those needs for you.