Gain problem in LE 6.4

Kev7555

Drunken homebrewer
First off, hello everybody, this is my first time here. Glad I found it. Also, I'm a bit of a greenie with PT so have some patience with me.
For some reason, recently my Pro tools started acting a bit quirky in the editing window. I like to use the audiosuite, gain feature to help get an entire track at close to one level before mixdown.

Suddenly it started acting very weird. I can highlight a portion of a track, go to audiosuite, gain...then adust the gain level. But when it completes, the track shows a flat line instead of the adjusted waveform. The only way out of this has been to undo.

Anyone hear of anything like this or have any input?

I have tried uninstalling the Pro Tools software and reinstalling but it has no effect.

Thanks!

-Kev

No, its a glitch in the program I think. Never had the problem all year and then it just cropped up. You can up the gain 10 times or more and you come back with flat line in the waveform. I have several friends who are very experienced professional users and no one has heard of this.

I am thinking of attempting to reinstall the software again, but this time I think I may have to go into the registry and make sure there are no traces of the program left. Why else would a new, fresh install of pro tools have the same problem it did before reinstall??? There must be a key somewhere that is saving that piece of information. I imagine if I can find that key and either edit it or delete it, the problem should go away with a fresh install.

I was just hoping someone here may have experienced it also, and may have a quicker solution.

-Kev

Thank you VERY much!

This sounds like what I've been looking for.
The problem DID crop up shortly after I was making changes in preferences one day. I'll try the advised procedures and report back (one way or another) on the progress.

Again, thanks for the link!

-Kev