Can't hear wet signal

keelerstein

Hi, newbie here, wondered if anybody could help.

I am running Pro Tools 9 HD on a Mac.
After connecting my guitar all I can hear is a dry signal.
Process I used is:
1. Add mono audio track.
2. Assign I/Os
3. Add Eleven free to first insert slot
4. Arm track.

All I can hear is the dry signal.The audio track is metering but Eleven free is registering no input I'm probably missing something obvious.
Incidentally, when I record something and then add eleven free it seems to work
Many thanks.

I'm not an HD user, but IIRC there's an option called 'low latency monitoring' in one of the menus.

It enables direct monitoring which would be dry.

Look for that and turn it off, and sure, let us know if that doesn't help.

Many thanks for you reply. Have looked in the ref. manual and it instructs thus:
To override Low Latency Monitoring During Recording on specific record tracks:
␣ Command-Control-click (Mac) or Control- Start-click (Windows) the Track Compensation indicator. Delay Compensations is applied to the track and the Track Compensation indicator displays in blue.
Unfortunately this seems to have no effect, the indicator remains green.
Fortunately somebody on another forum gave me a workaround. Add aux track, add insert and then point at audio track. This works thankfully, however I still would like to get to the bottom of the problem.
Thanks again for your help

Thanks, delay compensation in options directs you to Playback engine where you can set it to either long or short . Once this is done you can disable it via the mixer.
Unfortunately no change. Guess I'll continue with using aux tracks for now.

Thanks, delay compensation in options directs you to Playback engine where you can set it to either long or short . Once this is done you can disable it via the mixer.
Unfortunately no change. Guess I'll continue with using aux tracks for now.

keeler, look for "low latency monitoring".

Delay compensation is a different thing.