Aux Track QUestion

grkblood13

ok, as you're about to see im very new to protools. My question is about the aux track. When I create an aux track on bus whatever and add affects the the aux track what is actually playing. When I turn down the aux track all the way I can still hear the original tracks. How do I just listen to the aux track with the affects instead of both of them at the same time.

When I turn down the aux track all the way I can still hear the original tracks.

Of course you're gonna hear the track... when you're SENDING your signal to an Aux track what you're doing is passing a dry wave. Then the Aux can RETURN an amount of the effect to the track.

I don't know how you're working but you can do some test playing with the amount of signal you're SENDING and the amount of RETURN from the Aux track.

so the volume control on the aux track really isnt volume? it instead is the amount of effect I want to add? If this is the case then as far as volume levels go I should adjust the original tracks volume levels right?

There are two ways you can send audio to an aux track for processing. First, by setting the output of an audio track to a buss and making the input the same buss on the aux track.

OR, the more common way is to create a send, which basically just copies the audio and routes it to the aux track. You typically do it this way so you have your original audio track sound AND an effects track (ie. a reverb or something). It gives you more control this way over how much effect is mixed with the dry signal. The aux fader controls the level of the effected signal. You still control the original dry signal with the audio tracks fader.

I hope that makes sense.
:confused:

Yeah, you're starting to get it! Great!