MR-8 and CF upgrade cards - User Experiences

anyone have any news on cf cards for this old red? are cf cards even still made? I do still feel like using this old machine and would like to not care about how much room or compatibility... yea, been a while....

Hey all, I just ordered an MR8 MKII and I've been wondering about a 2GB card as well. Newegg has some for $9.99. Also, has anyone tried to use an SD->CF adapter in an MR8? I just saw one at the following site, looks intriguing, but I'm wondering if the following:

Digieffects SDXCF Extreme SD HC XC to CF found at bandhphoto.com

will actually work in an MR8 as they talk about CF Type II. Does the MR8 use CF Type I cards?

Looking forward to receiving my MR8 and using it for small compositions and as a notepad.

thanks,

Stef

Hi..... (newbie here, just joined this forum/introduced myself)
I bought a used Fostex MR8 (the red version, not the mkII)

I've inserted a new blank SanDisk Ultra 4GB 30MB/s CF card into my Fostex MR8
and I get a "Card Error" message...

...I've tried the Menu button, and the screen won't change to show
the menu. The screen stays stuck with the "Card Error" message display.
I can't even create a song (just a 1-track mic test "1 2 3")
to store it internally in the MR8 (its gotta have some kind of built-in
hard-drive, right?)

so that I can load it into the CF card... I'm reading the PDF manual as I
go along, but by this time I'm already aggravated.
I'm assuming that my MR8 can't recognize my $30 4gig CF card, so I'll just
have to use a lower-capacity CF card.

I've also downloaded an update for my MR8 (which I don't know how to
install it into the MR8, but I'll address that situation in its proper thread
later on after I figure out how to get my 4gig CF card working).

Any help and/or suggestions would be very much appreciated,
Thanks in advance. :)

These cards all work. I'm not sure how many of them are still available though.

SanDisk 1.0GB
SanDisk Ultra 2GB 15MB/s