Fostex VF160/ Need Help

spanishgrass@cs

I've owned my VF160 for a couple of years now and am really pleased with it. I've managed to record a couple of decent demos of myself. However, I am a novice at best and have had a frustrating experience trying to figure this thing out. First off, the instruction booklet that came with the recorder is put together from Japanese logic. I found this to be confusing. Second, being a novice, I do not understand some of the terminolgy, scrub, compress, to name a couple. Is there a book out there somewhere that defines the recording /mixing terminolgy? I've just discovered this site and haven't had time to read much of it yet but certainly intend to do so. FWIW, I am a solo performer, singing, and playing Dobro. I use a SM 58 for vocals and a AKG c1000s for my instrument. And my " recording studio" is my motorhome. No such thing as great acoustic in here. This is a great site and I'm looking forward to reading it all. Thanks to all for any input.

spanishgrass@cs said:
I've owned my VF160 for a couple of years now and am really pleased with it. I've managed to record a couple of decent demos of myself. However, I am a novice at best and have had a frustrating experience trying to figure this thing out. First off, the instruction booklet that came with the recorder is put together from Japanese logic. I found this to be confusing. Second, being a novice, I do not understand some of the terminolgy, scrub, compress, to name a couple. Is there a book out there somewhere that defines the recording /mixing terminolgy? I've just discovered this site and haven't had time to read much of it yet but certainly intend to do so. FWIW, I am a solo performer, singing, and playing Dobro. I use a SM 58 for vocals and a AKG c1000s for my instrument. And my " recording studio" is my motorhome. No such thing as great acoustic in here. This is a great site and I'm looking forward to reading it all. Thanks to all for any input.

Welcome...