Working with sound levels

jonas5000

i notice almost every song that i record sounds very quiet when finally mixed down to an mp3 or whatever. my drums and synths/pianos are done in fruity loops and the their signal is always very strong, almost hot. my vocals end up being ok volume-wise, but the signal is always very weak. when i play around with my recording volume level, then i'll get too much of a signal and start clipping. even when it seems i get the overall mix that i want, and i think the levels are ok, the final mixdown is still a decent amount quieter than the "normal" volume levels of all of my music in iTunes. please send me through sound levels 101.

if question doesn't reveal that i'm a home recording newbie then i don't know what will. i know that what i'm dealing with here are the basics of recording, but i could use some professional direction.

what i've got

btw, here's what i'm working with.

imac with 3.06 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo / 2 GB 800 MHz DDR2 SDRAM

all instruments are done in Fruity Loops 8 on an older PC, and then i send the track files over to my mac via jump drive.

Logic 8

Rode NT2-A microphone

Yamaha MW10 USB mixer
or
M-Audio Audio Buddy Pre-Amp

...and half a brain

From the little I know, I can say that you should not change anything about how you're tracking/recording - you're actually doing it right if you're not pushing the gain up as high as you can get it without clipping -- that was a good idea when folks were recording to tape, but it unnecessary and even harmful/limiting when recording in digital.

Now to actually try to answer your question, I'm sure there are more elegant ways, but one thing you could do is to add a Gain plugin (utilities->gain) to your output channels (1&2) and play with that until you got the average level where you want it. But if anyone else posts with a better sounding answer - go with them :)

this isnt the best answer. i am telling you that right now.